Nefarious Sea

Posted: December 14, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

In my room, hanging beside the window just above a desk, hangs a painting. Now, whether it is a real painting or not, I do not know, it could just be a simple, computer-made print out. As for the artist, if there is a real one, I do not know that either. But I do know that I enjoy this painting very much. It depicts a rocky coast, with waves crashing up against the boulders, ocean-spray being flung into the air. All the colors are very dark, deep blues. You can clearly see to the left the dismal openness of the ocean, with heavy, rain-filled clouds bearing down on it. There are even some scattered sea birds who probably got lost and are now stuck in this dreadful gale.

Sounds like a lovely picture, doesn’t it? No, not really. However, I didn’t describe what is in the middle of the painting. Up in the corner the clouds break and a strong shaft of light pierces through the storm and, it seems, where it hits the water, there is calm. Now, there is no sun, and you can just barely make out some sky, but it is there; the light.

I purchased this piece of art for cheap at a garage sale several years ago and ever since then I have never been able to take my eyes off of it. It is possible to draw up an appropriate metaphor because, to me at least, it screams to be explained in comparison to my own life; the hard waters, the troubles of life, the shaft of light, the hope in Jesus. I could go on.

Even though the eye is naturally drawn to the beam of light, I’ve come to a point in my relationship with the picture when sometimes, especially recently, I look first to the daunting sea and oppressive waves and to them, I just stare. I know I shouldn’t because to fixate on that instead of the light seems almost wrong.

The past few weeks have been rather difficult. And I can tell you that every fiber of my body wants to look to the sea, instead of looking to the sky. But I can say without a degree of difficulty that there will always be a beam of light waiting to shine down, a ray of hope to take you out of the despair if you trust and obey. Paul knew what it was like to be in despair, especially as he wrote in prison to the Christians in Rome. He said,

“We have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has lured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given.”    -Romans 5:1-5

No matter how bleak the storm may seem, there is a hope. Hope in an everlasting peace, a peace that gives us what we need, even though our problems will not all but dissolve. But never forget this because it is easy to say when everything is peachy. Try saying it in the lowest valley. You may be surprised to find that you won’t spend that much time down there, after all. God bless.

-Nick

Comments
  1. G.Uncle John says:

    Oh buddy, thanks for making me all teary while at work! Seriously though, I just Thank God for you and your inspiration.

    • God Bless you! This is one fantastic garage sale buy. You, my young man will always look to the light. Your blood and genes will no doubt pull you there. Stay strong and remember you are loved by many! Thank you for sharing!

  2. I am so proud to be your mom! They always say that your kid will be like you as payback….so glad that didn’t come true. People always remark on how strong you and I are. I correct them and say that yes, you are, but I am only doing what most mother’s would do: that’s not totoally true. First of all, it’s not my strength but His. I could never do this on my own! He may be the one I rely on, but if you weren’t the kid you are, this would be even harder: your strength is infectious! We may battle, tempers may flare, feelings may be hurt….after all, these are not easy times in our household….but we have love and God and each other! We are blessed. I love you so much Nicko!

  3. Earlene Longbrake says:

    This came to my computer at just the time I needed it. I am currently in a “valley” – wow. God always provides just what you need, just when you need it. This time He provided it to me through your post. Thank you for listening to Him and sharing with us.

  4. connie jackson says:

    As usual , Nick, you are an inspiration and we KNOw where it comes from. The mountain tops you have seen and the valleys you have been in are teachings to us and I thank you so much for sharing what you do with friends, families and at one point , strangers. God provides what we need , when we need it IN HIS time. which is usually not ours..lol…hugs t both you and your Mom and enjoy each day….CJ (NH)

  5. Brenda says:

    Nick, I can’t say this enough you are one amazing person and I love you and you have taught me more in your 19 years then I learned on my own…(32years). Your an inspiration and please keep writing, it reminds us all what really is important. I also thank God for you and your mom.

  6. justinkidder says:

    Nick, you are one of the most inspiring people I know. Your outlook on life is incredible and inspiring, especially in the circumstances it comes from. Keep it up.

  7. Kathy imes says:

    Nick, it is just so wonderful that you are home. You are such an inspiration with words and actions. I believe God is working through you to encourage others. I want to encourage you that i believe God has a mighty work for you, keep pressing forward and be Blessed!

  8. Seth says:

    Nick,

    You are an absolutely incredible writer, person and friend. I only hope we could have spent more time together than just the few short semesters in the cardboard boxes that are 2E. I hope to speak to you face to face soon but until then I want you to know that you are an inspiration and your writing can help to affect change in people’s lives. Keep writing. Keep living. Most of all, keep loving.

  9. Joan says:

    Nick,
    We may never meet, but I work with your dad. Your insight and strength are beyond your years, not to mention you are a fabulous writer! I have prayed for you often and have shared this blog with many. After reading your blog the words to a hymn “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” came to mind: “strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow” I don’t understand why one so young has been through so much, but I know our Heavenly Father has you placed firmly in the palm of His hand. You will continue to be in my prayers.

  10. Pastor Patti says:

    Nick, this is probably a favorite of mine for sure. I have a set of pictures I like for a very similar reason. So often people look at their storm (and often its really a very small one) and they give up….never to go on. When if they had looked to the sky, their storm would not have seemed so big and so overwhelming, and their peace, their joy and their promise would have been answered. Our answer lies in what the sky has to offer not what the storm is doing…

Leave a Reply

